Seeing God

I went on a mission trip to South Africa and Mozambique in August of 2007. On that trip God taught me a significant lesson about seeing Him at work around me everyday. It was my desire to see what God was doing and I was frustrated by the realization that I was not seeing God at work everyday. I expressed this struggle to God.

Then God spoke to me from Matthew 6:22-23. “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!” That entire day I had been focusing on and thinking about things that I wanted or that I thought would make me happy. Because I was focusing on myself, I was blind to and missing the things that God was doing.

I was also looking for God to do big miraculous things and God reminded me of 1 Corinthians 12 and 13. The Corinthian church was caught up in wanting God to do spectacular things. But in 1 Cor. 12:31 Paul says I will show you the most excellent way… and he proceeds to talk about loving others as being even more important than speaking in tongues of angels, having all knowledge, being able to move mountains, and dying as a martyr. 1 John 4:12 says “No one has seen God at any time. If we love one another, God abides in us, and His love has been perfected in us.” So whenever we see the Spirit of God moving his people to love and serve others, we are seeing God at work around us.

This is how God most often works in the world, through His people. God is not concerned about doing lots of splashy miracles to impress and amaze people. He is concerned as a Father patiently teaching His children to love each other. Where ever we see the Spirit of God working in peoples lives, He will be moving people to love and serve others with their lives.

With that word from God, I realized I was seeing God working around me everyday as I saw members of the mission team loving the children of Mozambique through Bible clubs and making meals for the poor. Through encouraging a poor pastor by helping him build his house. I saw God working powerfully through a missionary woman, Sally, who had dedicated her life to organizing an entire town to help five thousand orphans of AIDS grow up with hope.

But we can miss all that God is doing when we focus on our selfish desires and then we are in darkness. When our hearts love the things of this world that darkness is very dark indeed. God desires that we focus each day first on enjoying walking with Him. As we walk with Him, He will show us opportunities to help and serve people. Then we will be the light of the World and people will see God through us.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

